Skip to content

Artists!

June 7, 2011

Not that I’m an artist but here are some I like (imagining if I could use any artist for a cover).  My artistic knowledge is limited.  Occasionally I buy paint and a canvas.  I liked Desperate Romantics and kind of liked the Dr Who with with Van Gogh in, even though he appeared to be a Scot (I forgive that more than the weird sexual politics the show seems to be playing at the moment).  Anyway, here are some painters I like.  I know there aren’t any women but then that’s completely the fault of my ignorance.  In defence the two artist who have offered to work with the press (Bee and Lisa) are female and excellent artists. Once again, anyway….

Kandinsky

Goya

Twombly.  I’m sorry Noelle but I love…LOVE….Twombly.

El Greco

Pollock

Bacon

Malevich

Matisse

Dali

Bosch

Whistler

Picasso

Schwitters

Mondrian

Barnett Newman

Lucian Freud

Orpen

Turner

Augustus John

Roger Fry

Bomberg

Peploe

Alasdair Gray

My dad.

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 7, 2011 5:34 pm

    Of that list I’d second Freud and Picasso… and perhaps your dad, I’m intrigued!

Leave a Reply

