Skip to content

The Villainelle Poetry Club

July 21, 2012

This Wednesday sees the first of Holdfire’s poetry readings.  I’ve decided to call the night ‘The Villainelle Poetry Club’. That’s meant to say Villainelle. The name came from the new logo I’m working on for the press (a blindfolded convict called Miccollo) and the idea of villanelle/villainelle came to mind. Maybe I see poets as villains too.  No, I don’t think I do.  Anyway the night starts at 7.30, upstairs in the Ship and Mitre. There are four poets reading.  Three are sort of the main readers and I thought I’d offer a small slot to a poet who hasn’t much experience at performing.  I’m hoping that each reading will offer a similar slot to an inexperienced but talented poet.  The poets are Eleanor Rees, Evan Jones, Neil Addison and Erin Fitzgerald.  All the poets are in some way connected to Liverpool whether that be academically or geographically and I think that’s a good way to start, by grounding the readings in the city.  The next reading will be in September.  Hopefully we’ll get a decent turnout for Wednesday but I imagine the attendance will grow in number over time, hopefully.I’m looking forward to the poetry and a nice pint of Paulaner anyway!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

